I am so excited! I just found out that I am going to be a recipient of an autographed copy of Nina Planck’s new book, Real Food for Mother and Baby: The Fertility Diet, Eating for Two, and Baby’s First Foods. It was a giveaway on Kimi Harris’ excellent blog, The Nourishing Gourmet. I encourage everyone to check out her blog (it’s linked on my blogroll under “food blogs”). We are on a limited budget and Kimi’s posts about nourishing, yet inexpensive, meals have become an invaluable resource for me.

As I posted in the comments on Kimi’s blog, Nina’s first book changed my life. I was born in the 70’s and my mom was a typical working mother of that era: every night was a boxed meal nuked in the microwave. I had NO idea how to cook when I got married. I did teach myself how to cook certain dishes, but had no idea about traditional, nutrient-dense foods.

My husband and I are hoping to conceive, but have been having a difficult time. Nina’s new book talks about fertility, as well as good foods to eat while pregnant. I am so thrilled to be receiving this book!

