I know God does not give us more than we can handle. But it has been a very trying month. My older half-sister (same biological father, different mothers) informed me that, after 36 years of marriage (she married the year after I was born), she was getting divorced. They had agreed on how to split everything, so it would be quick. And it was. 3 weeks later they were divorced. 2 days after the divorce was final, our younger sister gave birth to her first child and 2 days after that, our older half-sister’s mother died. So, there was a birth, a death and a birth and death. Isn’t that what divorce is? a birth into a new life (even if it’s not wanted) and a death? The actual divorce date, the birth of my niece and the death of my half-sister’s mother all happened within a week.

Then, I was informed that a childhood friend was diagnosed with Leukemia. He is 42 years old. His wife just had a baby in March. His mom and my mom have been best friends for 45 years. Lord, have mercy.

My younger sister had a difficult pregnancy and birth. It also took her years to get pregnant. At 35 years old, this may be her only child. May God grant Meghan Jewell many years!!!

