We live in a world where we are constantly bombarded by noise. Banks, grocery stores, doctor’s offices, restaurants have huge flat screen TV’s. Retail stores have commercial radio blaring while you shop. It’s inescapable.

Fallen human beings are so easily distracted. Over the past year, I have let myself become distracted. I have lost focus on “the one thing needful.” I realized a few months ago that I had become depressed. I struggled with my faith. I didn’t know why or how to get out of it.

I stumbled across the website of Al McGee. A former Baptist minister, turned Yoga instructor, and now convert to Orthodoxy. I highly recommend his site.

His most recent post on his blog, “Transcendence through Stillness” articulates the root of my problem.

Here is the link to the post:
Transcendence Through Stillness

Here is my comment (in part) on his post:

A few months ago, I found myself struggling with my faith and until discovering your blog, I wasn’t sure why I was struggling. I realized that I was busying myself with so many different things that I couldn’t be still before God. Physically and mentally, I was constantly running around. I forgot God and forgot that my life was passing away each moment. Sin creeps in, doubts grow, and faith diminishes.

In the past few weeks, I’ve begun having short times in the morning and evening, saying the Jesus Prayer. It has been difficult to quiet my mind, even for those few minutes. I am determined to stick with it, hoping that God will give me the grace to have longer periods of quiet.

I also pray to find that inner stillness and a quiet mind even in the midst of my day of working and caring for my son; not just when I have these moments of meditation in solitude.

Please read his post slowly, carefully, and thoughtfully. You will be glad you did.

Love in Christ,
Juliana

